Louise Glück

Louise Glück was born in New York City in 1943. She is the author of Averno (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006), a finalist for the 2006 National Book Award in Poetry; The Seven Ages (2001); and Vita Nova (1999), winner of Boston Book Review's Bingham Poetry Prize and The New Yorker's Book Award in Poetry. Her other publications include Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Award; Ararat (1990), for which she received the Library of Congress's Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; and The Triumph of Achilles (1985), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Boston Globe Literary Press Award, and the Poetry Society of America's Melville Kane Award.

In Proofs and Theories, her collection of essays on poetry, Glück describes her early experiences as a reader and writer of poetry:

"From the time, at four or five or six, I started reading poems, first thought of the poets I read as my companions, my predecessors--from the beginning I preferred the simplest vocabulary. What fascinated me were the possibilities of context."

With this early fascination with language and preternaturally discriminatory taste,  Glück's family encouraged her to continue with her interests: "…my family was remarkable. Both my parents admired intellectual accomplishment; my mother, in particular, revered creative gifts. At a time when women were not, commonly, especially well educated, my mother fought to go to college…"  The young Louise read early on, and was initially attracted to Shakespeare, Blake, Yeats, Keats and Eliot.

After graduating from high school, Glück enrolled in Leonie Adams' poetry workshop at Columbia University. She later attended Sarah Lawrence College in Yonkers, New York and later taught at Goddard College in Vermont. She also served as a faculty member at the Iowa Writers' Workshop, Williams College, Yale University, where she was the Rosencranz Writer in Residence and Boston College.

She has been awarded the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, a Sara Teasdale Memorial Prize, the MIT Anniversary Medal and fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, and from the National Endowment for the Arts. In 1999 she was elected a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets. In the fall of 2003, she became the Library of Congress's twelfth Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry. In 2003, she was announced as the new judge of the Yale Series of Younger Poets, a position she will hold through 2007. She is a writer-in-residence at Yale University.

Browse Authors

Reset | View All

Search by Name