Nonfiction Writing Program

Program News

Inara Verzemnieks (NWP '13) Wins Prestigious Prize

NWP Alum Jennifer Percy Wins the 2017 National Magazine Award

An Interview with Meghan Daum

Program Highlights

   Founded in 1976

   Three-year program uniquely focused on the essay and creative nonfiction

✚   Graduates of the Nonfiction Writing Program have received the MacArthur Award, the National Book Award, Whiting Writer's Awards, National Magazine Awards, the National Book Critics Circle Award, Lannan Literary Awards, PEN Awards, Pushcart Prizes, Guggenheim Fellowships, NEA Fellowships, Howard Foundation Fellowships, Rhona Jaffe Fellowships, USA Fellowships, and many others--all within the past ten years.

   Students in the Nonfiction Writing Program receive full-funding, free tuition, and unparalleled opportunities to design and teach their own creative writing courses through short-term master classes and full-length workshops.

   Alumni include Yiyun Li, Eula Biss, Jennifer Percy, Lucas Mann, Elena Passarello, John D'Agata, JoAnn Beard, Kristen Radke, Kerry Howley, Inara Verzemnieks, and Hope Edelman.

Nonfiction Writing Program


The Nonfiction Writing Program is a three-year residency program which culminates in the submission of a creative nonfiction thesis and the awarding of a Master of Fine Arts degree. It was the first creative writing program in the United States dedicated to the study of the literary essay and is now home to the University's Center for the Essay. The Nonfiction Writing Program is regularly ranked the #1 program in the U.S. for creative nonfiction.

308 English Philosophy Building | Iowa City, IA | 52242
Phone: 319-335-0440

Upcoming Readings

If you cannot see the event listings, a browser extension may be blocking content.