Iowa Writers' Workshop

Program News

Yaa Gyasi Awarded for Debut Novel, HOMEGOING

Lit City Episode Eight: Sanctuaries and Shadow Selves

New Fiction & Nonfiction by Workshop Writers

Marilynne Robinson, according to her students and friends

UI alumnus awarded National Humanities Medal

Program Highlights

   Founded in 1936

   Two-year program focusing on Fiction or Poetry

   Iowa Writers' Workshop alumni have won 18 Pulitzer Prizes, as well as numerous National Book Awards and other literary honors

   Six U.S. Poets Laureate have been graduates of the workshop

   Graduates include Kurt Vonnegut, Flannery O'Connor, John Irving, Jane Smiley and James Alan McPherson among many others

Iowa Writers' Workshop

The Iowa Writers' Workshop is a two-year residency program which culminates in the submission of a creative thesis (a novel, a collection of stories, or a book of poetry) and the awarding of a Master of Fine Arts degree. The University of Iowa Writers' Workshop was the first creative writing degree program in the United States and the model for contemporary writing programs.

For more than 70 years emerging writers have come to Iowa City to work on their manuscripts and to exchange ideas about writing and reading with each other and with the faculty. Many of them have gone on to publish award-winning work after graduating. With the spirit of an arts colony and the benefits of the research University of which we are a part, the Writers' Workshop continues to foster and to celebrate American literature in all its varied forms.

507 North Clinton St.
Iowa City, IA, 52240
phone: (319) 335-0416

Upcoming Readings

If you cannot see the event listings, a browser extension may be blocking content.