Iowa Playwrights Workshop

Program News

University of Iowa Theatre presents Tony-winning 'Fun Home'

An Interview with Kia Corthron

Book Wings: South Africa

Book Wings 2014 partners with Baghdad and Moscow

Three UI Alumni Win 2012 Whiting Writers' Awards

Program Highlights

   Three-year program offering MFA in Playwriting

   Graduates include the playwrights Tennessee Williams, Lee Blessing, Sherry Kramer, Charles Smith, John O'Keeffe, David Hancock, Naomi Wallace, Rebecca Gilman, David Adjmi, Kirsten Greenidge, and Samuel Hunter

   Film and television writer-producers graduates include Richard Maibaum, Norman Felton, Barry Kemp, and Rick Cleveland

Iowa Playwrights Workshop

The Iowa Playwrights Workshop—The University of Iowa's MFA Program in Playwriting—is an intensive three-year program dedicated to educating playwrights for the professional theatre.

The objective of the program is to train talented playwrights as writers and collaborative theatre artists who will lead the American theatre in the creation of new works and the training of future generations of writers and artists.

107 Theatre Building
The University of Iowa

 Iowa City, IA 52242-1705

Phone: 319.353.2401

Upcoming Readings

If you cannot see the event listings, a browser extension may be blocking content.