The University of Iowa

Guggenheim Fellowships to Dan Beachy-Quick, Cathy Park Hong, Anthony Marra, and Cate Marvin

Iowa Writers' Workshop alumni Dan Beachy-QuickCathy Park HongAnthony Marra, and Cate Marvin were among the 175 scholars, artists, and scientists awarded Fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for 2015.

Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, they were chosen from a group of almost 3,100 applicants. In all, fifty-one disciplines are represented by this year's Fellows. Edward Hirsch, poet and president of the Guggenheim Foundation, remarked, “It’s exciting to name 175 new Guggenheim Fellows. These artists and writers, scholars and scientists, represent the best of the best."

Dan Beachy-Quick is the author or co-author of fourteen books of poetry, exploratory prose, and fiction, most recently, A Brighter Word Than Bright: Keats at Work (Muse Books, 2015), An Impenetrable Screen of Purest Sky (Coffee House Pess, 2013), and Work from Memory: In Response to In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust (with Mattew Ghoulish) (Ahsahta Press, 2011). Beachy-Quick's work has been supported by the Lannan Foundation. He has taught at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago and Colorado State University

Cathy Park Hong’s first collection of poetry,Translating Mo'um, was published in 2002 by Hanging Loose Press. Her second book, Dance Dance Revolution, was chosen for the Barnard New Women Poets Prize and published by W.W. Norton in 2007. Her third book of poems,Engine Empire, was published in Spring 2012 by W.W. Norton. Hong is also the recipient of a Fulbright Fellowship, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship and the New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship. Her poems have been published in A Public SpacePoetryParis Review,Conjunctions,McSweeney'sAPRHarvard ReviewBoston ReviewThe Nation, and other journals.

Anthony Marra's novel, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena (Hogarth, 2013), was awarded the National Book Critics Circle’s inaugural John Leonard Prize and the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in fiction, as well as the inaugural Carla Furstenberg Cohen Fiction Award. The recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award, a Pushcart Prize, and the Narrative Prize, his work has been anthologized in The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2012.  

Cate Marvin is the author of three books of poetryWorld’s Tallest Disaster (Sarabande Books, 2001), chosen by Robert Pinksy for the 2000 Kathryn A. Morton Prize; Fragment of the Head of a Queen (Sarabande, 2007), and Oracle (W.W. Norton, 2015). She as been awarded the Kate Tufts Discovery Prize, a Whiting Writers' Award and her poerms have appeared in Tin House, Virginia Quarterly Review, The New England ReviewPoetryThe Kenyon ReviewFenceThe Paris ReviewSlateVerse, and Ninth Letter. In 2009, she co-founded the nonprofit organization VIDA: Women in Literary Arts with poet Erin Belieu. 

For more information:

2015 Guggenheim Fellowships

Poetry Foundation: Dan Beachy-Quick

Cathy Park Hong

Anthony Marra

Cate Marvin