January 2012

Elizabeth McCracken

Elizabeth McCracken is the author of Niagara Falls All Over Again, winner of the PEN/Winship Award, as well as Here's Your Hat What's Your Hurry?, a collection of stories. She has received grants and awards from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the National Endowment for the Arts, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the American Academy in Berlin. She is a graduate of the Writers' Workshop, where she has also taught as a visiting faculty member.

L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award, The Story Prize
Author Type: 

Robert Lowell

Robert Traill Spence Lowell IV (1917-1977), one of the most praised and influential American poets of the 20th century, was born in Boston, Massachusetts to a Boston Brahmin family that included poets Amy Lowell and James Russell Lowell. His mother, Charlotte Winslow, was a descendant of William Samuel Johnson, a signer of the U. S. Constitution. He went to St. Mark's School, a prominent prep school in Southborough, Massachusetts, before attending Harvard College for two years and transferring to Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio, to study under John Crowe Ransom and Allen Tate.

Pulitzer Prize (1947, 1974), U.S. Poet Laureate, National Book Award, National Book Critics Circle Award
Author Type: 

Philip Levine

Philip Levine (b. January 10, 1928, Detriot, Michigan) is a Pulitzer Prize-winning American poet best known for his poems about working-class Detroit. He was appointed to serve as the Poet Laureate of the United States for 2011–2012.



Pulitzer Prize (1995), U.S. Poet Laureate, Academy of American Poets Wallace Stevens Award, National Book Award for Poetry, National Book Critics Circle Award
Author Type: 

Carolyn Kizer

Carolyn Kizer was born in Spokane, WA. After graduating from Sarah Lawrence College in 1945, she pursued graduate studies at Columbia and the University of Washington. In 1959, she founded Poetry Northwest in Seattle, WA and was its editor until 1965. She spent 1964 and 1965 as a State Department specialist in Pakistan, where she taught at a women's college and translated poems from Urdu into English. She chose to leave early in protest of the  U.S. decision to bomb North Vietnam in 1965.

Pulitzer Prize (1985)
Author Type: 

W.P. Kinsella

William Patrick Kinsella (1935) is a Canadian fiction writer who was born in Edmonton, Alberta. Kinsella spent two years in Iowa city while studying creative writing at the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop between 1976 and 1978; he received his MFA degree in 1978. He is the author of Shoeless Joe, which was made into the feature film Field of Dreams.

Officer of the Order of Canada, Stephen Leacock Award
Author Type: 

Tracy Kidder

Tracy Kidder received his MFA from the University of Iowa Nonfiction Writing Program in 1974.  Six years later, in 1982, he won the Pulitzer Prize in the General Non-Fiction category and the National Book Award for The Soul of a New Machine (Atlantic Monthly-Little Brown, 1981), an account of the development of Data General's Eclipse/MV minicomputer. The book typifies his distinctive style of research. He began following the project at its inception and, in addition to interviews, spent considerable time observing the engineers at work and outside of it.

Pulitzer Prize (1982), National Book Award
Author Type: 

Donald Justice

“How could anyone take such simple, straightforward subjects, not trying to foist either any explanation of their cause or any high-flown interpretation of their meaning, but trusting simply to one’s own voice and style to give them the reality, the elegance and thrust to make them whole?”

Pulitzer Prize (1980), Guggenheim Fellowship, Rockefeller Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts
Author Type: 

John Irving

Born in Exeter, New Hampshire, John Irving (1942-) majored in English at the Philips Exeter Academy in his native town, then, attended the University of Vienna in Austria and graduated from the University of New Hampshire (1965). He later enrolled at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop (1965-1967) where he received instruction from Kurt Vonnegut. At Iowa, he developed a Master of Fine Arts thesis that became his first published novel, Setting Free the Bears (1968). Irving taught at the Writers' Workshop from 1972 to 1975.

Academy Award (1999)
Author Type: 

W. David Hancock

W. David Hancock (MFA 1990) is a playwright who has received Obie Awards for his plays The Convention of Cartography and The Race of the Ark Tattoo.

W. David
Whiting Award, Obie Award
Author Type: 

Jorie Graham

Jorie Graham was born in New York City in 1950, the daughter of a journalist and a sculptor. She was raised in Rome, Italy and educated in French schools. She studied philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris before attending New York University as an undergraduate, where she studied filmmaking. She received an MFA in poetry from the University of Iowa.

Pulitzer Prize for Poetry (1996), MacArthur Fellowship
Author Type: 



If you cannot see the featured event, a browser extension may be blocking content.